Zambia, Zimbabwe sign energy intergovernmental memorandum

Southern African Development Community (SADC)
Southern African Development Community (SADC)

Zambia and Zimbabwe on Friday signed the SADC (Southern African Development Community) Centre for Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency (SACREEE) Inter-Governmental Memorandum of Agreement (IGMoA).

The agreement constitutes the formal founding act and status of the establishment of the centre of SACREEE by SADC member states.

It was signed in Windhoek the Capital City of Namibia during the SADC Ministers of Energy and Water meeting.

SACREEE has been mandated by SADC member states to coordinate the implementation of the Southern Africa Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Strategy and Action Plan (REEESAP). The REEESAP is a regional framework within which SADC member states will develop their own renewable energy and energy efficiency strategies and action plans and thus kick-start national processes to accelerate energy security, access and transition in the region, including development of national action plans.

To date, eight SADC member states have signed IGMoA, namely Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mauritius, Namibia, Malawi, Zambia and Zimbabwe. Enditem

Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 244244807
Follow News Ghana on Google News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here