8th NDC National Delegates Congress For Kumasi

Asiedu Nketia


Asiedu Nketia

Despite misunderstanding and disagreement between some party faithful across the country, an Executive Committee Meeting was held at the party Headquarters to discuss the party?s wayford meanwhile the National Democratic Congress (NDC) has re-opened nominations for persons aspiring to contest the various national executive positions.

Speaking at a news conference just after the meeting, the General Secretary of the ruling NDC party, Johnson Asiedu Nketia announced that the NDC Functional Executive Committee (FEC) had early on settled on December 13, 2014 to organize the party?s National Delegates? Congress to allow delegates? elect new national executives.

It is scheduled to take place in Kumasi at the Baba Yara Sports Stadium in the Ashanti Region.

According to him, all Party members aspiring to contest the National Chairman position are expected to pay GHC 5,000, while those contesting the National Vice Chairmanship position are expected to pay GHC 4,000 each with three witness.

The price for nomination form for the General Secretary position is pegged at GHC 4,000.

He said other Members who want to contest the the Deputy General Secretary and the National Youth Organizer positions will pay GHC 3,000, while Propaganda Secretary, Treasurer, National Youth Organizer, and National Women?s Organizer aspirants will pay GHC 2,000 for the forms.

Also, any interested person aspiring to contest for the various deputy positions are required to pay GHC 1,000. Some leading members of the NDC have also kick started their campaigns ahead of the national delegates? congress.

Mr.Asiedu Nketia hinted that NDC party constitution is different from the others some both the youth and the women?s conference is been slated for 6TH Dec,2014 of which the youth own will be held in Kumasi Baba Yara stadium whiles the women?s too on the same day in Wa.

Throwing more light on Some of the personalities whom have shown key interest on the bid to contesting the Chairmanship slot are; incumbent Chairman, Dr Kwabena Adjei, Alhaji Hudu Yahaya, Dan Abodakpi and Kofi Portuphy.

For the National Vice Chairmanship position, former Attorney General, Betty Mould Iddrisu,?Danny Annan, Harry Zakour, Alhaji Sinare and Lee Ocran will be contesting.

Whiles incumbent General Secretary of the NDC, Johnson Asiedu Nketia is reportedly contesting the position unopposed.

For the Deputy General Secretary, Kojo Adu Asare, incumbent George Lawson, Koku Anyidoho and Timothy Awuntirim are reportedly going to battle it out.

The National Organizer slot will be contested by Kofi Adams who is currently a Deputy General Secretary.

Send your news stories to newsghana101@gmail.com and via WhatsApp on +233 244244807 Follow News Ghana on Google News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here