Mr Kosopre, who is a government appointee, secured 35 votes, whilst his contender Mr Tabiri had 18 votes in all the three rounds of voting in the election conducted and supervised by officials of the Electoral Commission (EC) at Drobo.

Electoral Commission of Ghana
Electoral Commission of Ghana

Five of the assembly members were absent.

Madam Dora Tamea, the Jaman South District Chief Executive said she was disappointed with the assembly members, noting that, the house failure to elect a PM was a big blow to the assembly.

She said until the assembly members buried their personal interest, development would not progress in the district.

Madam Tamea emphasized that the assembly members had not only disappointed their constituents, but failed the entire district.

She advised the assembly members to unite and contribute meaningfully to the development of the district.

Mr Kwame Siegfried Addo, the Jaman South District Coordinating Director, explained a circular received from the Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development mandates the house to elect a PM by simple majority to preside at meetings upon the assembly’s failure to elect a substantive PM.

Source: GNA/

Disclaimer: News Ghana is not responsible for the reportage or opinions of contributors published on the website.

Send your news stories to [email protected] and via WhatsApp on +1-508-812-0505 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.