Benelux countries express determination to make EU succeed


Ahead of the 60th anniversary of the Treaty of Rome, the Netherlands, Belgium and Luxembourg issued a common vision of a successful future of the European Union, the Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs announced on Wednesday.

European Economic Area
European Economic Area
On March 25 this year the EU will celebrate the 60th anniversary of the Treaty of Rome, which ultimately lead to the modern day European Union. The Netherlands is the acting head of the Benelux, a politico-economic union of the three neighboring states, for the years 2017 and 2018.

“As founding member states, we are determined to make a success of the EU with 27 member states, building on their joint history and achievements,” it said in a statement, “We firmly believe that the EU remains the best answer to face today’s challenging times and shape tomorrow’s world.”

Benelux wishes to strengthen EU cooperation together with “respect for human dignity, freedom, democracy, equality, the rule of law and human rights.”

In addition, the Benelux wants the EU to focus on core priorities and to only act when member states themselves are not able to deliver for their citizens.

Its statement emphasized “a common responsibility to further strengthen a democratic and transparent formulation and decision-making processes” and that “different paths of integration and enhanced cooperation could provide for effective responses to challenges that affect member states in different ways.”

The Treaty of Rome, officially named the Treaty establishing the European Economic Community (TEEC), is an international agreement that led to the creation of the European Economic Community (EEC). The agreement was signed by the Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, France, Italy and West Germany on March 25, 1957 and entered into force on Jan. 1, 1958. Enditem

Source: Xinhua/

Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 244244807 Follow News Ghana on Google News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here