MP for Kwahu-Mpreaso lost primaries

Politics Voting

The incumbent Member of Parliament at Mpraeso Constituency, Mr Seth Kwame Acheampong has been defeated by David Ansah Opoku popularly known as OPK at the New Patriotic Party (NPP) parliamentary primaries organized at Mpraeso.

Mr Opoku won by 402 votes against Mr Acheampong who had 104 votes.The total number of votes cast was 506.

The exercise that started at exactly 07:00 am was peaceful whilst all necessary materials needed for the election were provided for at the polling stations.

The exercise was carried out in 17 polling stations with 572 delegates who were supposed to cast their votes.

In another development, Mr Samuel Ayeh Paye, incumbent MP for Ayensuoano, retained his seat with a poll of 306 votes to beat his three contestants at the NPP primaries for the Constituency held at Coaltar in the Ayensuano Constituency in the Eastern Region.

The other contestants, Ms Ida Asiedua polled 160 votes, Ms Josephine Ansah-Awuku had 18 votes and Mr Mark Tetteh Rendolf polled 57 votes.

Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 244244807
Follow News Ghana on Google News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here