European Union

Poland, Hungary and the Czech Republic broke the law of the European Union (EU) by refusing to relocate refugees during the migrant crisis in 2015, the EU’s Court of Justice ruled on Thursday.

Under EU rules, the European Commission or other member states can file a case against member states who have failed to comply with its obligations under EU law.

The European Commission, the EU’s executive, in 2017 took the three nations to court for failing to comply with decisions two years earlier for EU nations to relocate or resettle migrants mostly via Italy and Greece, which have borne the brunt of arrivals in the biggest influx of asylum seekers to Europe since World War II.

However, the court found that in December 2015, Poland did not relocate the 100 people it had promised to relocate and did not make any subsequent relocation commitment.

Hungary, for its part, did not make any relocation commitment.

In February and May 2016, the Czech Republic had vowed to relocate 50 people to its territory, among which 12 were relocated from Greece. But the Czech Republic did not make any subsequent relocation commitment.

Member countries that violate EU law could face fines. Enditem

Disclaimer: News Ghana is not responsible for the reportage or opinions of contributors published on the website.

Send your news stories to [email protected] and via WhatsApp on +1-508-812-0505 

Previous articleGermany registers 6,156 new cases of COVID-19, 140 deaths over past day
Next articleIsrael injects US$179 million to aid hi-tech industry amid coronavirus pandemic
Xinhua News Agency, Xinhuanet is an important central news service-oriented website, an important information organ of the central government, and an important platform for building up China's online international communication capacity. Established on November 7, 1997, as an online news provider of the Xinhua News Agency, it was officially named Xinhuanet on March 10, 2000 and began around-the-clock news release with leading online public opinion at home and setting a good image of China abroad as its main task.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here