Ethiopian PM New Cabinet Named


Ethiopia’s new Prime Minister, Abiy Ahmed, on Thursday named his cabinet members as well as heads of relevant federal government organizations.

Ahmed, who presented 16 new cabinet members for approval to the Ethiopian House of People’s Representatives, also appointed nine officials as heads of various federal government offices.

Following the endorsement of Ahmed’s new 16 cabinet members by the parliament’ lower house unanimously, the premiere has now 29 cabinet members, of which 16 have been appointed on Thursday.

Abiy Ahmed, who was unanimously endorsed by the Ethiopian House of People’s Representatives (HoPR) as Ethiopia’s Prime Minister earlier this month, has reshuffled the East African country’s cabinet members, majority of whom were appointed by the HoPR as per the recommendation of former prime minister Hailemariam Desalegn in November 2016.

From the incoming 16 cabinet members, 10 have been appointed for various ministerial positions, while the remaining six were reshuffled from one ministerial position to another. Some 13 of the ministers in the 29-member cabinet have remained in their previous positions.

Ahmed, while presenting his recommendations to the parliament’s lower house, stressed that the major tasks for the newly appointed ministers should be the fight against corruption, strengthening accountability as well as reducing extravagant procedures.

The premier also indicated that one of the major reasons behind the cabinet members reshuffle was the persistent public dissatisfaction and anger that was exacerbated by mal-administration and lack of accountability.

According to Ahmed, the selection of the newly appointed ministers was made after careful analysis and investigation of their previous work experience as well as the working performance of their previous organizations.

Among the reshuffled ministers include the former minister of defense, Siraj Fegessa, who has been appointed as minister of transport, while Motuma Mekasa, who was former minister of mine was assigned as minister of defense.

Ahmed has also appointed nine other officials for various pertinent positions within the federal government structure, which include the Federal Police Commission, the Ethiopian Information Network Security Agency and Metal and Engineering Corporation.

Ahmed, who came to power amid mass anti-government demonstrations in parts of the East African country, also stressed that responding to the demands of the general public remained at the top of his administration’s ambitions.

According to Ahmed, the newly appointed ministers would bring about the expected changes to answer the preoccupation of the public.

The Ethiopian House of People’s Representatives has also on Thursday elected the first female house speaker, Muferiat Kamil, succeeding Abadula Gemeda, who has been on the position since 2010.
Kamil, who was the former Minister of Women’s Affairs, is a member of the ruling coalition, Ethiopian People’s Revolutionary Democratic Front. Enditem

Send your news stories to Follow News Ghana on Google News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here