I voluntarily concede defeat to Nana in 2007-Alan


AlanFormer Trade and Industry Minister, Alan Kyeramaten has rejected assertions?by a section of his party’s supporters describing him as self-centred.

Some supporters of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) have taken to social media and accused?the flagbearer hopeful of abandoning the party in 2007, when he?announced?his resignation from the party following his defeat to Nana Akufo-Addo.

After losing again in 2010 to Nana Akufo-Addo, Mr. Kyerematen accepted an offer to serve as a trade advisor at the UN Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia as head of the African Trade Policy Centre (ATPC).

He later went on to contest for the post of Director-General of the World Trade Organisation but could not make it to the final shotlist. It was an opportunity to contest one of the four global positions, Mr. Kyerematen noted.

He described the?ATPC?offer as a good opportunity “not just our party [NPP] but it was going to be good for Ghana and it was going to be good for Africa.

“If a party activist is entrusted with the responsibility of guiding Africa’s Trade Agenda, [then] clearly this is something that we must all be proud about,” Alan stated Wednesday on the Joy FM Super Morning Show.

“The last thing that I know any serious person would say about Alan is that he is selfish”.

He said he “voluntarily” offered to concede defeat to Nana Akufo-Addo in 2007 “without any condition” when the latter failed to go past the required 50%+1 vote to become flagbearer of the NPP.

The former Ambassador to USA described the claim as “political, old-beating ?propaganda”.

According to him, he was part of the campaign team of Nana Akufo-Addo that toured the country ahead of the 2008 presidential election.

“I went round the whole country with Nana Akufo-Addo for the 2008 presidential elections for a full year”.

Mr. Kyerematen said he is the best person for the NPP in its bid to recapture power in 2016. He said he is well positioned to attract floating voters to win the 2016 polls.

There are currently seven candidates vying for the sole slot to lead the opposition party but only five?of them would be presented at congress in December, after the number is pruned at a Super delegates’ congress later in August this year.

Other contestants include: two-time flagbearer of the NPP, Nana Akufo Addo; former Trade Minister, Dr Kofi Konadu Apraku and MP for Asuogyaman, Kofi Osei-Ameyaw.

The rest are: MP for Essikado Ketan and Second Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Joe Ghartey; former MP for Mfantseman West Stephen Asamoah Boateng popularly known as Asabee and MP for Mampong, Francis Addai Nimoh.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here