Cameroon Beat Egypt To Lift 2017 AFCON

2017 Afcon Winners Cameroon
2017 Afcon Winners Cameroon

The Indomitable Lions of Cameroon came down from a goal, to beat the Pharoahs of Egypt 2-1 to lift the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations in Gabon.

2017 Afcon Winners Cameroon
2017 Afcon Winners Cameroon

The Lions, who were not favourites, at the start of the competition, demonstrated determination and aggression in their game, especially in the second half to carry the day and become winners of the trophy for the fifth time.

This was after, the Pharoahs had gone up in the first half, when Mohamed Enenny squeezed a ball past keeper Joseph Ebogo, which hit the roof of the net for in the 22nd minute, after receiving a through pass from Abdallah Bekhit at the Stade De Armitie in Libraville, Gabon.

Cameroon, laboured for the equalizer before the close of the half but failed, as Egypt remained the dominant side at the end of the first half.

Head coach of Cameroon Hugo Broos, introduced two fresh limbs in the second half, Vincent Aboubacar and Nicolas Nkoulou and the duo brought more bite in the team, as they turned the heat on the North Africans throughout the second half.

Though the Egyptians stood against the pressure and occasionally moved towards the Cameroonian goal area, the defensive network did a good job to clip their talisman Mohamed Ghaly and Elneny, whilst Aboubacar, Christian Bassogog and Zoua Jacques remained constant threat to the Egyptians.

As the Cameroonians remained dominant, in the game winning all the 50-50 balls and set pieces, it was evident that the equalizer will be a matter of time.

Nkoulou in the 58thth minute rose above the defensive set up of Egypt and headed home the much-needed equalizer for Cameroon.

Cameroon remained dominant and outplayed their opponents with excellent exhibition of physical fitness, as the Egyptians could hardly find their rhythm.

The dominance of Cameroon paid off, in the later stages of the game, when Aboubacar, flicked a ball over defender Ali Gobr and swept it into the net for the winner in the 88th minute.

Cameroon held onto the lead till the close of the 90 minutes and additional time of three minutes.
Line Up:
Joseph Ebogo, Adolphe Kamgang/Nocolas Nkoulou, Ngadegu Michael, Oyongo Ambroise, Benjamin Moukandjo, Zoua Jacques/Vincent Aboubacar, Christian Bassogog, Sebastien Siani, Suthuin Arnuad, Robert Tambe, Fai Collins.

Essam El Hadary, Aly Mosaad, Ahmed Eissa, Ahmed Hegazy, Ahmed Ibrahim, Kerek Hamed, Mohamed Ghaly, Mohamed Elneny, Abdellah Bekhit, Mahmoud Hassan, Amr Wahada

Send your news stories to Follow News Ghana on Google News Aviator


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here