He polled 6,396 out of 9,949 valid votes cast to beat three other aspirants.

Mr Bedzra’s closest contender, Mr Akpadzi Mortey Biadela had 2,451 votes, while Nukomeko Tettey had 875 votes; the fourth aspirant, Mr Alexander Bediako had 229 votes.

Mr Bedzra’s supporters, mainly the women at Dzolokpuita, the Ho-West District capital, celebrated the victory deep into the night.

Mr Bedzra told the Ghana News Agency that, the victory was the result of his hard work and dedicated service to the Constituency.

He said he was ready to work with all and unite the Party for victory in the 2016 general election.

In the Adaklu Constituency, Mr Kwami Agbodza, the incumbent Member of Parliament also polled 3,671 to beat Raymond Akpatsa, who managed 1,347votes.

The following are names of other winners of the primary in the Volta Region; Charles Agbeve- Agotime-Ziope, Peter Nortsu-Akatsi, Angela Alorwu-Tay-Afadjato South, Bernice Adiku Heloo-Hohoe, Dela Sowah-Kpandu, James Avedzi-Ketu North, Bernard Ahiafor-Akatsi South, John Majisi-Krachi Nchumuru, Rockson Dafeamekpor-South Dayi.

Others are; Joycelyn Tetteh-North Dayi, Kofi Humado-Anlo, Richard Quashiga-Keta, Kobby Woyome, South Tongu, Gabby Hotordze-Central Tongu, Helen Ntoso-Krachi West, Benjamin Kpodo-Ho Central.

The rest are John Oti Bless-Nkwanta North, Wisdom Gidisu-Krachi East, Nyapon Aboagye-Biakoye, Abdul Aziz Muniru-Akan and Daniel Ashiamah-Buem.

The election in the Ketu South, North Tongu and Nkwanta North constituencies are, however, on hold.


Disclaimer: News Ghana is not responsible for the reportage or opinions of contributors published on the website.

Send your news stories to [email protected] and via WhatsApp on +1-508-812-0505 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.