Voting started across 18 Constituencies of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) with sitting Members of Parliament in the Greater Accra region on Saturday.

Candidates contesting are Ada; Mr Alexander Tettey – Enyo the sitting MP is being challenged by Mr Moses MacCarthy, and Ms Comfort Doyoe Cudjoe Ghansah; whilst at Sege; Alfred W. Ogbodzor Abayateye faces four contenders – Christian Otuteye Corlettey, Emmanuel Buenuor Mortey, Freeman Nunekpeku Sarbah and Henry Stanley Soti.

At the Shai Osudoku, Mr David Tetteh Assumeng, Ebenezer K. Adzakli, Beatrice Maku Ogah, Charles Tettehfio, Ernest K. A. Adjanor, and George Amanor; Ashaiman – Alfred K. Agbesi MP against Alhaji S. M Abdul-Rahman, Anthony Afenyo, Abass Osabutey, and Ibrahim Baidoo.

Candidates for Trobu Amasaman are Joseph Kofi Acquah, Issaka Amon Kotei, Emmanuel Nii Okai Laryea, William Kwasi Ahamadzie and Christine Afi Fiakpoe; whilst at Klottey Korle Nii Armah Ashiettey, Leeford Kpakpo Quarshie, Wakefield Wisdom Ackuaku and Frank Edmund Awuku.

The Candidates for Ablekuma Central are Theophilus Tetteh Chaie, Alhaji Halidu Haruna, Godslove Charles Kwatelai Quartey, Basha A. Harsey, Frank Mutachilu Mayonga and at East Ayawaso Dr. Mustapha Ahmed, Nazer Mohammed Toure, Ahmed Mohammed Gedel and Haruna Rashid Ibrahim are contesting.

The MP for Domeabra Obom, Dauod Anum Yemoh stands unopposed whilst two candidates – Rukaya Abubakari Alhassan and William Torgbey are challenging Alhaji Amadu Bukari Sorogho for the Abokobi Madina seat; at Ningo Prampram Mr Micheal Tetteh is challenging the veteran MP Mr Enoch Teye Mensah for the seat.

At Krowor Dr. Nii Oakley Quaye-Kuma is facing opposition from Agnes Naa Momo Lartey, George Mensah and William Opare-Saforo; whilst at the Ledzokuku Reuben Nii Nortey Dua is testing his popularity against Benita Sena Okity-Duah, and Nii Sowah Boye Sekan.

La Dadekotopon Nii Amasah Namoale is fighting for a renewal of mandate against Nii Amarh Ashitey, Rita Odoley Sowah, Rev. Kelvin Tetteh Caternor, Dr. Benjamin Odoi Yemoh, and Samuel Sowah Oblejumah whilst the Odododiodoo seat of Jonathan Nii Tackie Komme is under threat from Walid Anyertei Laryea and Edwin Nii Lante Vanderpuije.

At Adenta: Adu Asare faces Emmanuel Nii Ashie Moore, Dr. Desmond Aryee-Boi, Samuel Anum Adjei, Alhaji Adam Mahama, Herty Laura Ken and Paulina Delali Adinyirah whilst Nii Laryea Afotey Agbo goes unopposed at Kpon Katamanso.

At the Ablekuma South Constituency, Fredric Fritz Baffour is fighting against Wisdom Nii Amoo Dodoo and Othniel Otokunor Kwainoe.

But in other areas, candidates who stood unopposed will be acclaimed in a short ceremony. They include MP for Kpone Katamanso Afotey Agbo and Domeabra-Obom MP Dawud Yemoh.

Also to be acclaimed today are the MPs for Nadowli West and outgoing Works and Housing Minister Alban Sumana Bagbin as well as Shama MP Gabriel Essilfie, who became the last man standing after Deputy Western regional minister Emelia Arthur was disqualified by the party’s vetting committee.

Mr Kobina Ade Coker, Regional Chairman of NDC in an interview with Ghana News Agency (GNA) in Accra, explained that all operational challenges which necessitated the postponement last week have been resolved.

In an interview with Joy News the Greater Accra Regional Chairman asked delegates to vote for candidates who will help the party win the 2012 elections.

Source: Ghana News Agency



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.